Danny Baisden

Danny Harold Baisden, 64, of Turtletown, Tenn., formerly of Elk Creek, died Thursday, Feb. 28, 2019.  

He was born at Williamson, Jan. 17, 1955, the son of the late Harrison and Celia Gilman Baisden. 

In addition to his parents, he was preceded in death by his brothers, James Rife, Alfred Curry and Paul Ray Baisden; and his grandson, Zachary Baisden.  

He is survived by his wife, Jennifer Carter Baisden; his sons, Danny Baisden (Christy), Howard Baisden (Heather) and Scott Baisden; his daughter, Selena Canada (Connie); his step-daughters, Emmalee Carter and Savannah Carter; his grandchildren, Jason Canada, Ryan Baisden, Sabrina Cook, Kaeleigh Baisden, Cory Cline, Lacy Baisden, McKenzie Baisden, Alex Baisden, Ethan Baisden and Madison Baisden; his brothers and sisters, Alonzo Curry, Harrison T. Baisden, David L. Baisden, Eloise White and Brenda Nolan; several nieces and nephews; a special niece, Delena Baisden; and his special friends, Eric Conley, Randy Baisden, Allen Walker, Rev. Ray Harper and Lee Nicholson.  Funeral services were held at 1 p.m., Tuesday, March 5, 2019, at the Chafin Funeral Home Chapel, with Elders Billy Baisden and Cullen Caudill officiating. Burial followed at the Farley Cemetery, Elk Creek, with Eric Conley, Ryan Baisden, Jason Canada, William Baisden II, Josh Baisden, Gordon Mills II, Chris Toops, David Toops, Benjamin Baisden and Matt Maynard serving as pallbearers. Arrangements were under the direction of the Chafin Funeral Home of Delbarton.

The guestbook may be signed at www.ChafinFuneralHome.com.

Stevie Carter

Stevie Carter, 58, died Sunday, March 3, 2019.

He was born at Man, Aug. 1, 1960, the son of the late Ott and Mae Carter.

In addition to his parents, he was preceded in death by his brother, Curtis Carter; and his sisters, Irene Mulder and Juanita Church.

He was a coal miner and dozer operator for 30 years. More than anything, he enjoyed spending time with his grandchildren. He loved camping, boating and fishing. He especially loved throwing his nephew, Casey Carter, off the inner tube.

He is survived by his beloved wife of 37 years, Marie Carter, of Hanover; his son, Stevie Carter (Cindy), of Coal Mountain; his grandchildren, Haley Carter and Brayden Carter, both of Coal Mountain; his niece whom he loved like a daughter, Bretney Huff, of Hanover; his sister, Judy Triplett (Bennie), of Branchland; his niece, Cassandra West Shelton, of Branchland; his nephews, Casey Carter, of Huff Creek, and Jamie West, of Hanover; his special cousins whom he loved dearly, Darlene Grimmett, Vivian Green and Margie Caffrey; and a host of other dear family and friends.

Funeral services were held at 1 p.m., Thursday, March 7, 2019, at Big Cub Missionary Baptist Church, with Rev. Louis Collings and Rev. Casey Carter officiating. Burial followed at the Stevie Carter Cemetery, Hanover, with Dusty Huff, Isaiah Blankenship, Cameron Lester, Chandler Lester, Chris Stafford and Justin Sizemore serving as pallbearers. Arrangements were under the direction of Mounts Funeral Home, Inc., of Gilbert.

He is gone from our sight, but never from our hearts.  

The guestbook may be signed at www.mountsfuneralhome.com

Juanita Cline

By now, I guess, you’ve heard that I stepped out of this life on Wednesday, Feb. 27, 2019, around 5:30 a.m., in the stillness of a private room at Logan Regional Hospital. Also, bet you didn’t think you would be hearing from me this soon or reading an obituary written in first person. Unique you think? Read on. I had a lot going on that you could see and a lot going on that you could not see. It’s what you couldn’t see that I am not allowed to share with you, but I will tell you it was all amazing. In fairness to you, you should know my life was much more than an obituary.

I was born at Bradshaw, on Oct. 27, 1934, to Abraham and Virginia Blankenship, both of whom I loved. I was born during the era of “Children should be seen and not heard” and I thought I was a mute child for a long time--just joking, of course.

I learned early on that life would be a challenge and I would have to be resilient. I couldn’t quite explain to my grade school teacher that I had vision problems, not learning problems. Thankfully, after they kept moving me closer and closer to the chalkboard, (Yep, we had chalkboards back then.), they finally figured out that I needed glasses! I wore them the rest of my life, but still looked gorgeous, even in glasses.

I also learned early in life that God was my Father and my very best friend. I came to know Him at such an early age. I can’t actually recall a specific day, month or year.  But, I am sure He kept accurate records. My early family years had some turbulence, so having God as my best friend was the best thing a little girl could ask for.

We had no iPhones in those days. In fact, very few phones. So, we all used to gather at a community center for movies and other fun. Well, at the ripe age of 12, (Did I just say 12?), I met a boy named Hersel. Who would have dreamed that we would marry when I was 14, (Uh…did I also just say 14?), and he was 17, and that we would have four children and spend the next 70 years together? Can you see now how great a Father God was throughout my life?

I loved everyone my Heavenly Father placed in my life. My husband, Hersel, from 12 to 84, (and beyond), my oldest daughter, Carolyn and her husband, David, my next oldest daughter, Gail and her husband, Roger, my son, Arville and his wife, Georgetta and my baby girl, Debbie, (not to be confused with my puppy), and her husband, Delmer. The children of my heart gave me a myriad of grandchildren and great-grandchildren. I ranked right up there with the old woman who lived in a shoe.

And, of course, I loved my church family dearly. I joyously worked at the Sharon Heights Assembly for many years and created a lifetime of memories with people who owned my heart. I wish I had time to name them all because each one was important enough to me to be named. If you are reading this and were ever in my presence, I am thinking of you as one of those important ones. Each of you carried me with your love through the years.  And now I am being carried to my final resting place by some who I must just mention. Those “really” carrying me: Roger Cline, Darren Cline, David Hatfield, Alex Blankenship, Gordon Carter, Mick Endicott, Greg Blevins and Eric Lester; those who are my honorary carriers: James Fields, Pete Cline, John Toler and Thurman Tolliver.

I must also express my heartfelt thanks and love to those who helped me in my more recent difficult days: Fern Carter, Marsha Hatfield, the wonderful people of Logan Regional Medical Center and Dignity Hospice and, of course, my kids and their families. And, a big hug to my wonderful puppy, “Baby Girl”.

I am celebrating as I write, in the presence of angels, others will be celebrating the lives we shared together this Saturday, March 2, at Sharon Heights Assembly, my home church at Hampden. They have set the celebration time at 11 a.m. to 12 p.m. for family celebration, 12 p.m. to 1 p.m. for friend celebration time and 1 p.m. for a celebration ceremony with my son, Arville, officiating.

I have always loved flowers, especially yellow roses, but I would be honored if you would take the money you might spend on flowers for my life celebration and just donate that money to the church you attend. God loves all His children and so do I!

I’ve had a wonderful life and thank you to all who made it so.

Love, Juanita

Arrangements were under the direction of Mounts Funeral Home, Inc., of Gilbert.

The guestbook may be signed at www.mountsfuneralhome.com.

“Bear” Davis

Larry Eugene “Bear” Davis, 68, of Lenore, died Thursday, Feb. 28, 2019, at his residence. He was born in Mingo County, Nov. 1, 1950, the son of the late Rev. Ray Davis Jr. and Mary Workman Davis.

He served his country honorably and proudly in the United States Army during the Vietnam War. He worked in the coal mines, for many years, before becoming disabled. 

He is survived by his loving wife of 46 years, Judy Mahone Davis; his son, Larry Ringo Davis (Debra) and their children, Jackson Ray and Jasmine Elise Davis; his daughter, Mary Allison Davis Bevins (Gregory Kent) and their four children, Katelyn Mackenzie, Matthew Kent, Meghan Grace and Mia Hope Bevins; his son, Patrick Michael “PJ” Davis; his brothers, Rev. Paul Ray Davis (Barbara), Monroe Davis (Drema), Ronnie Lee Davis (Betty) and Gary Michael Davis; his sister, Diana Davis Ferris Rumora; his long-time friend, Tommy Lee Dempsey; and a host of nieces, nephews, other dear family and friends. 

Funeral services were held at 12 p.m., Sunday, March 3, 2019, at the Parsley Bottom Freewill Baptist Church, with Rev. G.W. Mounts officiating. Burial followed at the Lenore Memorial Gardens, Lenore. Arrangements were under the direction of the Chafin Funeral Home of Delbarton.

The guestbook may be signed at www.ChafinFuneralHome.com.

Melvin Hayton

Melvin Ray Hayton, 53, of Varney, died Sunday, March 3, 2019, at St. Mary’s Hospital, Huntington.

He was born at Williamson, May 6, 1965, the son of the late Ralph L. Sr. and Emogene Edwards Hayton.

He was a coal truck driver. He loved the outdoors, fishing, hunting and rooster fighting. In his younger days, he was an excellent golden gloves boxer.

In addition to his parents, he was preceded in death by his brothers, Brian, Tommy and Larry Joe Hayton; and his sister, Willie Edwards.

He is survived by his ex-wife and caretaker who was always by his side, Lori Hayton; his son, Melvin Hayton Jr., of McCarr; his step-daughter, Brandi Dearfield, of Matewan; his brothers, Guy Hayton, of Arizona, Ralph L. Hayton (Barbara) and Anthony Hayton, both of Varney; his sisters, Ruby Ball (Kenneth), of Turkey Creek, Ky., and Susie Estepp, of Matewan; his grandchildren, Kyler Chance Hayton and Riley Mae Dearfield; and a host of nieces, nephews, other dear family and friends.

Funeral services were held at 12 p.m., Thursday, March 7, 2019, at the Chafin Funeral Home Chapel, with Rev. Gary Starr officiating. Burial followed at the Edwards Cemetery, Varney. Arrangements were under the direction of the Chafin Funeral Home of Delbarton.

The guestbook may be signed at www.ChafinFuneralHome.com.

Lorraine Toler

Lorraine Harding Toler, 74, died Saturday, March 2, 2019, surrounded by family and friends.

She was born on Nov. 30, 1944, the daughter of the late Troy Harding and Ethel Justice Harding. 

She resided at Los Branch with her parents and siblings throughout her youth. As a young girl, she would walk for miles, to be able to go to church, every time the doors were open.

On May 1, 1961, she married the love of her life, Raymond John Toler. They remained married until his passing in 1983. She never remarried. She always lovingly insisted that he was and would always be the love of her life.

In addition to her parents, she was preceded in death by her loving husband, Raymond John Toler; her loving son, Benjamin Toler; her sisters, Lena Ellis, Eunice Runyon and Ann Tolliver; her brothers, Larry Harding and Jerry Harding; and her two special dogs, Prince and Titus.

She is survived by her loving children, Roger Toler (Mary), of Justice, Amos Toler, of Fredericksburg Va., Dallas Toler (Dollie), of Ragland, Mark Toler (Jessica), of Delbarton, Betty Cline (Rex), of Baisden, Pam Stewart, of Bridgeport, Crystal Toler, of Justice, and April Mullins (Todd), of Destin, Fla.; her siblings, John Harding (Diana), of Harper, Bill Harding (Linda), of Lester, and Dave Harding (Debra), of Cool Ridge; and a host of loving grandchildren, great-grandchildren, nieces, nephews and many lifelong friends who loved her dearly.

The words of Abraham Lincoln can help to summarize the thoughts and feelings of her children who are left to feel the hurt from her loss; “All that I am or hope to be, I owe to my angel Mother.”

Her daughter, Crystal, wholeheartedly dedicated and devoted her life to caring for her mother in her last days and held her hand as she took her last breath. The family would like to give a special thank you to some amazing people who helped so very much in Lorraine’s last days on this earth; Janet Cline, Romaine Lester, Kim Blankenship, Della New and Sandra Dean. We can never thank them enough for all they have done. 

The world truly lost a great light, a light that must now be carried by those that loved her.

Funeral services were held at 1 p.m., Wednesday, March 6, 2019, at the Justice Tabernacle, with Rev. David Johnson, Rev. Phillip Johnson and Rev. Mitchell Bias officiating. Burial followed at the Davis Cemetery, Justice, with David Jarrell, Todd Hamrick, Ethan Adkins and Jeremy Lowe serving as pallbearers. Honorary pallbearers were: Raymond Toler, Austin Toler and Justin Toler. Special singing by Elizabeth Pyszkowski, Romaine Lester, Janet Cline and Larry Ferguson. Arrangements were under the direction of Mounts Funeral Home, Inc., of Gilbert.

The guestbook may be signed at www.mountsfuneralhome.com.

“Mickey” Vinson

Norma “Mickey” Vinson, 76, of Hanover, died Thursday, Feb. 28, 2019, at her residence.

She was born at Welch, March 4, 1942, the daughter of the late Albert and Wonnie Cline Blackburn.

She was a fun person to be around, always laughing and joking. She loved to exercise, read books, spend time with her precious family and attend the Justice Church of God.

In addition to her parents, she was preceded in death by her husband, William “Bill” Vinson; and her brother, Earl Blackburn.

She is survived by her daughter, Tina Cline and her companion, David Fortner, of Justice; her son, Jamie Matney (Melissa), of Baisden; her special granddaughter, Brandy West (Donnie), of Justice; her grandson, Jeremy Huff, of Delbarton; her four great-grandchildren, Destiny Blankenship, of Simon, and Jayden Blankenship, McKenzie Cline and Alaya West, all of Justice; her two brothers, Sambo Blackburn and Ricky Blackburn, both of Baisden; her two sisters, Barbara Wiley (Carless), of Baisden, and Drema McVicker (Joe), of Buchanan County, Va.; her special niece, Tori McVicker; many other nieces and nephews; and a host of other dear family and friends.

Funeral services were held at 1 p.m., Tuesday, March 5, 2019, at the Mounts Funeral Home Chapel, with Rev. Bill Cresong officiating. Burial followed at the Justice Memorial Gardens, Justice, with Nathan Justice, Trey Owens, White Dotson, David Fortner, Dinky West and Clark Blackburn serving as pallbearers. Arrangements were under the direction of Mounts Funeral Home, Inc., of Gilbert.

Her tender heart and beautiful smile will be missed by all who knew and loved her.

The guestbook may be signed at www.mountsfuneralhome.com.

Recommended for you